Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 14th, 2008

This picture was sent to me by Braam…he is a South African living/working in Azerbaijan. He’s found my blog for the recipes and in particular the
buttermilk rusk recipe…
and he’s baked his own and he sent me pics of the evidence too…which I will upload on the post with the recipe…and he’s also tried my own pizza-recipe … HERE  he’s thought to send me this pic to make my day…and being a catlover…he really HAS made my day!! This is soooooo cute!!!  btw…he’s also in Baku!!! –and I’m so jealous!! as Baku is the city where the Chess tournament was held a couple of weeks ago and if you’ve seen my posts about it…you will remember the beautiful pics of the old city…and hopefully Braam is going to send me a few pics of Baku too!

If you’re a cat-lover…try getting yourself this book! It’s really a fantastic book to have!

“The Cat Lover’s Companion”

And…this is me, of course!!

Read Full Post »

Danie de Wet

Painting celebrating African and European influences –2008
Danie de Wet
The Way (2005)
Oil on board
Roelof Rossouw
Blaauwklippen Estate from Jamestown
The Red Boat, Hout Bay
Roelof Rossouw
Walter Koch
“untitled”
His inspirations come from African Rock and Graffiti
Francois Krige…Blue Cranes (they are South Africa’s national bird)
I was sent this link earlier this week by a relative of mine. Her hubby is an artist and a very talented person when it comes to art and music and I’ve thought to blog a few artists from this site as I think that we have wonderful artists in South Africa and apart from that, we have such a beautiful country and I personally think that SA is a paradise for any artist. I’d wished many times that I was a natural artist. I want to sit down and start a drawing and after five minutes I want a master piece! But, unfortunately, I was at the end of the line when God handed out that gift! By looking at all these masterpieces then I’m really rubbish when it comes to art! although I’ve done some fabric painting, but that’s easy peasy…it’s like  colouring a picture with  paint! and I’ve done some Chinese painting….that’s painting on plates…even easier than fabric painting! ….nothing really difficult about that and you don’t even have to be an artist to do that! In my school in SA I used to do that with my gr3’s…and they did some wonderful paintings on small plates as a Mothers’ day-gift.  One of my gr3’s even taught her mum how to do it and they started a club at home painting plates as Christmas presents…so, you see, you don’t have to be an artist and I want to be one!! lol! The first two piece of art is from her hubby and the others are just some of the beautiful art which I like…the first one in particular reminded me about chess…if you know what I mean…the bottom half….and I do love any beautiful painting with boats…and it’s even better with a South African mountain on the background!! ….I know I will find more pieces of art which I will like by spending more time on the site…so, here’s the link for you to play around! Please click HERE for more South African artists and their art work.

Enjoy this piece of painted fabric… I might scan one more later…if you have your image transferred on your fabric…it’s….dead easy…almost like “colour-by-the-numbers”….
On THIS SITE you can view a gallery of art from many well-known artists of South African e.g. Maggie Laubscher, Walter Battis, W H Coetzer, etc. Francois Krige’s “Blue Cranes” is from this gallery…do enjoy!

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Read Full Post »