Archive for December 5th, 2007

Kobese and Bwalya

Chess game Kobese and Bwalya two South African players…please wait for game to load when you click on the link!
Click HERE to access more games to play through.

click here for Chesscube ….


Read Full Post »


More photos here…
 ROUND 4….Results


 Readers not knowing how this table works: Look at matches 1-8 and the player with the highest score in each match moves on to the next round. Read the press release of today:
The last eight finalists for the World Cup have now been determined after the tie-break matches were played today. Again we had plenty of surprises and more top seeds toppled. Two of the Mexican finalists in September will be leaving Khanty-Mansiysk. Previous World Cup winner Levon Aronian from Armenia lost his first tie-break game against 24-year-old Dmitry Jakovenko from Russia , and although pressing very hard in the second game, could not manage to recover. Jakovenko will be playing his next round against the most experienced (and eldest) player left in the World Cup, 35-year-old Alexei Shirov from Spain. Another top seed who played in Mexico, Peter Svidler, lost his second tie-break game to ex-World Championship runner-up Gata Kamsky from the USA . Kamsky will now be facing the former World champion Ruslan Ponomariov from Ukraine in his next match.

The interesting point to note is that from the remaining eight quarterfinalists the average age is 24! Two of the world’s youngest grandmasters have shown a deep sense of maturity and purpose in disposing of highly experienced rival grandmasters. 17-year-old Magnus Carlsen from Norway has steadily faced challenge after challenge and his next match will now be against another young player, 21-year-old Ivan Cheparinov from Bulgaria . 17-year-old Sergey Karjakin from Ukraine will face the challenge of the ‘much older’ 22-year-old Alekseev from Russia.

Some very interesting chess is promised in the quarterfinals as three of the final four players will all get an opportunity in the forthcoming Grand Prix whilst the winner will get to play a match next year to determine the challenger for the World Championship match in 2009.
For more results clickHERE.
Chess Press release

Read Full Post »